Radicore Forum
Fast Uncompromising Discussions. FUDforum will get your users talking.

Home » RADICORE » RADICORE Installation Issues » Radicore and cpanel
Radicore and cpanel [message #1380] Mon, 30 June 2008 15:54 Go to next message
bonzo_bcn is currently offline  bonzo_bcn
Anyone has successfully run radicore in a cpanel hosting?
I need to chmod the radicore directory to 777 in order to allow radicore to create dirs.
If I set permissions to 755 I get the message 'Cannot create directory ../ceae'
Also radicore is creating the app directories with the username 'nobody' and group 'nobody'.
I'm not an apache expert so I don't know if this is a Radicore issue or a hosting issue.
Re: Radicore and cpanel [message #1382 is a reply to message #1380] Mon, 30 June 2008 16:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
AJM is currently offline  AJM
This is not a Radicore issue. It is a problem with the *nix permissions system and the fact that when PHP is run as an Apache module it is given the user name of 'nobody' which somehow does not have sufficient permissions to create directories and/or files.

Re: Radicore and cpanel [message #1384 is a reply to message #1380] Mon, 30 June 2008 16:17 Go to previous messageGo to next message
That's what I thought but I wanted to be sure before going to technical support, I'll update once I've solved it.
Re: Radicore and cpanel [message #1386 is a reply to message #1380] Tue, 01 July 2008 03:05 Go to previous messageGo to next message
I have to set the permission of the radicore folder to 777 in order to allow the creation of folders, they say 'PHP runs under the nobody user and it needs write access to the directory.', is this right? I don't want to leave the radicore folder with 777 permissions as it's a security problem..
Re: Radicore and cpanel [message #1387 is a reply to message #1386] Tue, 01 July 2008 04:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message