Radicore Forum
Fast Uncompromising Discussions. FUDforum will get your users talking.

Home » RADICORE » RADICORE Installation Issues » How to set directory and file permissions (Radicore Installation documentation is vague on permissions. Does anyone know specific permissions parameters?)
How to set directory and file permissions [message #7372] Mon, 07 October 2019 20:17 Go to previous message
Joe is currently offline  Joe
Hi All

I am brand new to Radicore and am following the installation instructions. I am up to Item 4 in the instructions. http radicore DOT org SLASH installation DOT php

Sorry about that weird URL. I am banned from including a link in my first posting. Rules, rules ...

The instructions say, "You will need to change permissions so that the following directories have write access." Then it lists 7 directories. That is it.

I have no idea who or what needs write access, nor what to do with other directories nor what the ownership for these directories and files should be. By default they are root:root because it is necessary to copy them to the web server with sudo permissions. Should they stay as root:root? That doesn't seem correct. I think that it is apache that needs the access. Is that correct?

Please can anyone give me the details on who needs what permissions for all directories and files under the radicore root and which user and group should own these directories and files?

What I expected in a section on permissions would be two blocks of text: one for windows and one for *nix. I am hosting my site on Debian 9, so I do not know about hosting under Windows. What I expect is something like the following. Note what I have written is only for example. It is most likely wrong. Do not blindly follow these instructions. I am just showing what would be an example of an adequate level of detail.

WINDOWS
------------------------------------------------------------ ----------------

All of the instructions that are relevant.

*NIX