Radicore Forum
Fast Uncompromising Discussions. FUDforum will get your users talking.

Home » RADICORE development » Workflow » Problem with db
Re: Problem with db [message #1007 is a reply to message #18] Sat, 28 July 2007 20:42 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
zamolxes is currently offline  zamolxes
"It is possible to merge all the tables into a single database, but the effort is too huge and I'm not going to do it."

If merging the tables into one database involves considerable work from your part, why do you write such misleading things in your Programming Guidlines, that lead to the conclusion, that it can be achieved by configuration.

"I have been working on large applications for many years, ..."
So have I, really complex applications, able to cope with terabytes of information under very stringent conditions as to performance, accuracy, timeliness, requiring exact design.

"... and the concept of a separate database for each subsystem is just standard practice. This is how professional systems are written, it is how professional databases work, ..."

Experience shows, that there is no such thing as 'standard practice'. Instead, there exist quite a number of standard practices, each in its own right, and applied according to circumstances.

According to Charles Darwin neither the most intelligent, nor the strongest will survive, but the most adaptable. This is also true for software.

The professionality of a software product is unrelated to the size of he application for which it is used. From what you say, I conclude that only large applications can be professional.
However ingeniously a product may be designed, its acceptance and success will strongly depend on its ability to adapt itself to the most controversial environments.

"... so low budget ISPs should not prevent the standard practice of professionals with their amateur restrictions."